Help Meghan support The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society

Hi,
By now you know how strongly Elizabeth and I feel about Hospice.
Clearly we have a personal connection to multiple myeloma.
Meghan, Chris Grillone’s girlfriend of years, had her cousin die from cancer when they were little and now she is trying to raise money for that cause.

Please take a minute or two to read the letter below and visiting the website to see a picture.

Thanks
Brian and Elizabeth

___________________________________________________________________

I am excited to inform you that I am currently training to run a marathon. Running a marathon has been one of my goals for some time and recently two circumstances have come together propelling me to start earnestly working toward that goal; a worthy cause and a team to train with.

To be eligible to participate in the Nike Women’s Marathon on October 22nd in San Francisco, I must raise $5,000. All proceeds earned by the other marathon participants and myself will be donated to The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society – a voluntary health agency that works to find cures for Leukemia, Lymphoma, Hodgkin’s Disease, and Myeloma. Additionally, the Society supports family members of patients who suffer from these diseases with volunteer assistance and educational counseling among other services.

To raise the funds integral to further their research and provide services, the Society developed a program called Team in Training to assist participating athletes as they train for the marathons, triathlons, and century rides (a cycling event) the Society sponsors. By participating on a Team in Training, I receive professional coaching, informational clinics, and best of all, a supportive team to train with. With the encouragement of the team and the motivation of raising money for the Society, I was ready to put on my sneakers and get started.

The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society’s work is especially important to me because of a personal experience with a cancer patient. My cousin Jody Hunter was diagnosed with Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia at the age of four and died from it six days before his eighth birthday, in 1992. Jody and his family lived in Phoenix, Arizona at the time and I spent many summers swimming and playing with my cousins as Jody’s disease progressed. There were many generous organizations that aided Jody and his family during those four years, and The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society was one of them.

In the same spirit of generosity that the Society once gave to my family, I am asking you now to be generous with a donation to me. Any amount you are able to give will be a welcome addition as I make my way toward my goal of raising $5,000 by October 1st, my fundraising deadline. Checks can be made out to The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society and sent to my address at 40 ½ Annie Laurie St. Mountain View, California 94043. You can also donate with a credit card on this page. Your generosity is greatly appreciated. Wish me luck!

http://www.active.com/donate/tntsvmb/tntsvmbMCole1

Leave a Reply

