throw out your headphones

Some time ago I got to reading about headphones, probably on lifehacker.com .  Since then I have found goodcans.com and every so often I go there and read again.

If you have read this far you are interested enough in headphones that you should get up and throw out what you currently have.

OK, now what to buy…. this is easy and life changing.  Sennheiser PX100 link below.   I found that without spending much money you can make a big difference in your listening experience… and you will kick yourself for not doing it sooner.

I picked up circumaural open Sennheisers and I have never heard anything better.

Amazon is selling the link below for $27.  Yup, that is $27, not $270.  The sound compares to 2 or 3 times that price.
Amazon.com: Sennheiser PX 100 Collapsible Headphones: Electronics

For in canal the Sony, yup Sony Ex51LP rival  and actually sounded better than the Shures I had for awhile.  $2o for $120 sound.  (sometimes higher number isnt better, you can go ahead and by the 71s but they are the same parts).

If you want closed circumaural ‘sealed’ the Sennheiser HD280Pros you can get on Amazon at times for $69.99, they came out at $150 and compare with $250 cans.

The other amazing deal I found was Logitech Noise Canceling.  Originally $150 now at TigerDirect.com (or through Amazon), $39.99.  The reviews say they are about 90% of the $250-300 Bose noise canceling headphones.

Supra-aurals, I guess the Senn PX100s are supra-aurals, but really  supra aurals equal  Grado.  Just get the SR80s,  a little more expensive than the SR60s, but twice the headphones.  I want to find someone to give a pair of these to.  Apparently, they rival  $400 Sennheisers.

The last and most common category… ear buds.  I have a pair of $35 Sony’s I got at Fry’s in LA.  They have great sound but are uncomfortable.  I most have read a good review somewhere, but reviews and opinions of good ear buds are few and far between, so I wont recommend any.

Now, if nothing else, go and buy the Senn PX100s.  If your read this far, I will buy them for you.

If you want to get more sophisticated figure out how you will use them.  I have circumaural open for amazing sound that I can hear my kids through so the house doesnt burn down.  Ear bud for travel, they pop in and sound good.  In canal for in flight.  And Logitech noise canceling bec they come with hard shell case (good for sea bag) and I can always find a quiet spot in Iraq by turning them on.

Good listening!

Brian

Surp

If

Leave a Reply

