Told the kids

Tonight at dinner I told the kids I would be going away.
Months of talking nearby them Timothy would typically have figured it out.
With the new things for deployment in the house and the family predeployment photos we had today, and visitors coming this weekend to say ‘goodbye’, we figured it was time.

Well, it was really an understated event.  Julian stood up on his dinner chair and proclaimed “Now I can play Lego Star Wars all the time, Whoo hoo!”  Good old Julian, not phased and looking out for number one!

Timothy was quiet.  Then he said lightly, “But Dad isn’t going to be here when the baby comes…”

When they asked how long and I said until around Halloween, the look of surprise from Timothy was remarkable.  He was sweet and said, ‘but who is going to throw the football with me?’   I said that Mommy would be he reminded me she will be busy with the new baby.

Anyway, I reassured them that all my friends say that it seems like it has been a while when you are there, but when you get home it seems to have gone quickly.

Of course, I anticipate missing them will be quite painful at times.

Here is a nice photo from today to sign off.

Powered by ScribeFire.

Leave a Reply

